ISBN 9781912224449  Hardback  £70.00   Order  

Voices of Anger and Hope

Studies in the Literature of Labour and Socialism

​H. Gustav Klaus

Available September 2019

About this book

The leading historian in this field here offers a number of specific studies which do much to illuminate the politics, literature and culture of alternative visions.

Contents: Introduction. “Moral Force” and “Physical Force” in the Poetry of Chartism: John Mitchell and David Wright of Aberdeen; Mrs Rochester and Mr Cooper: Alternative Visions of Class, History and Rebellion in the “Hungry Forties”; Voices of Anger and Hope from the 1840s to the 1940s: Hugh Williams, T.E. Nicholas and Idris Davies; Bart Kennedy: Hater of Slavery, Tramp and Professor of Walking; Rebels on the Stage: Turn-of-the-Century Plays by Wilde, Galsworthy, Jones and Lawrence; The Shipbuilders’ Story; Felled Trees – Fallen Soldiers; Individual, Community and Conflict in Scottish Working-Class Fiction, 1920-1940; Genteel Anarchism: Herbert Read’s Poetry of Two Wars; Foregrounding the Kitchen: Everyday Domestic Life in Painting and Drama (with illustrations); Anti-authoritarianism in James Kelman’s Late-Twentieth-Century Fiction; John Burnside’s Living Nowhere as Industrial Fiction. Index.

About the author

H. GUSTAV KLAUS is Emeritus Professor of the Literature of the British Isles, University of Rostock, Germany. He has also been a Visiting Professor at the University of Queensland, a Research Fellow at the Universities of Edinburgh and Aberdeen, and a Visiting Fellow at Corpus Christi College, Oxford. His more recent books include Factory Girl (1998) and James Kelman (2004) as well as the co-edited collections British Industrial Fictions (2000),  ‘To Hell with Culture’: Anarchism and Twentieth-Century British Literature (2005) and Ecology and the Literature of the British Left: The Red and the Green (2012). His The Literature of Labour: Two Hundred Years of Working-Class Writing, and the edited essay collections The Socialist Novel in Britain and The Rise of Socialist Fiction, 1880–1914, all with new introductions, are also available again from EER.

Edward Everett Root Publishers Co. Ltd.